The Aesthetic Value

Bike

I value things according to aesthetics I just discovered. Looking back on the things that have been major interests: Japan, skateboarding/snowboarding, the kinds of movies I like, architecture, and most recently biking, its an easy observation to make. Let me tell you about how I got into biking. Outside escape coffee house I saw a single-speed with a front-wheel disc brake only. (similar to this) Everything else was taken off the bike and I was blown away by how beautiful and simple it was. I think it took about a month before I had my own bike and had done the same thing. I’ve since upgraded (great story), but aesthetically, its still not what I want. Its hard to explain how my mind works. I think I view things with my emotions. If something stirs my emotions then I sold. Its the same thing with Japanese architecture. A simplicity and beauty that stirs the emotions, creates a feeling of longing, of peace, of  just needing to look at that picture and want to, want to, want to be in that room.I evaluate music the same way. Music that is emotional is liked, music that doesn’t stir me, disliked. Probably why I like coldplay.. they’ve tapped into my subconscious. This is so so me, its who I am, its what I’m about, its how I rate and value the world and everything about me. Is it shallow though? Is it lame to love an object for what it looks like, but not really care about what it means. Can you create & enjoy the world around us because you like how it makes you feel when you look at it and set that as your ultimate goal? Does everything have to have a meaning?And then bring God into the equation. Am I made like this? Is this really who He created me to be? If so, then let me revel in my shallow aesthetics, just don’t judge me. I don’t know. Everyone else seems to want meaning.  

Leave a comment

Filed under Aesthetics, Art

Leave a Reply

